Are MOOC attrition rates really a problem ?

Standard

In this article Jonathan Haber argues that the numbers could be misleading and ends it with a provocative last word

Before my MOOC launched, I did a quick back-of-the-envelope calculation of how many students I’ve ever had in the classroom, since I started teaching in grad school. And the number I came up with was, approximately 1400. The number of students who completed my MOOC is approximately equal to the number of students I’ve had in the classroom in my entire career. The number of students who were active in the MOOC (Total Active Students) turned out to be approximately an order of magnitude more than the number of students I’ve had in the classroom in my entire career. Contemplate that.

In the very least, I suspect , MOOC”s enable equitable access to online education for inquisitive souls across geographic and institutional boundaries . And if you happen to be an inquisitive soul from under- privileged background — that could only be a good thing for you.

And maybe in one those souls we could just discover the next Steve Jobs

Leave a Reply

